Description: This unusual arrangement of four castle towers (Las Tours, The Towers)standing as a unique fortification belonged to the Lords of Cabaret, who held in fief from the Trencavels.
In the thirteenth century there were only three towers here, built on the same rocky outcrop. They are called Cabaret (to the north), Surdespine and Quertinheux (to the south). The towers stand on a hill crest above the village of Lastours, flanked by the River Grésilhou to the west and the River Orbiel to the east.
The Seigneurs of Cabaret received troubadours here, including Raimon de Miraval and Peire Vidal, who dedicated verses to the Cathar Ladies of the place.
During the Cathar Crusade this was one of the most ardent centres of resistance to the French Crusaders, In 1209 it was besieged unsuccessfully by Simon de Montfort. It was here, a year later, that a line of a hundred men appeared on foot, having snaked their way from Bram, their eyes torn out, their noses cropped and their lips cut off by the Catholic soldiers of Christ.
In March 1211, after the fall of Termes, Pierre-Roger de Cabaret, negotiated the surrender of the castles, more under diplomatic rather than military pressure.
In 1223 he recovered his property. Once again Cabaret became the foremost centre of resistence against the French invaders. The Cathar bishop of Carcassonne, Pierre Isarn, was given refuge here until 1226.
After the Council of Toulouse in 1229 the Seigneurs of Cabaret were obliged to abandon their stronghold. They regained it, briefly, when they accompanied their liege Lord, Tranceval, in his reconquest in 1240.
Today , you will find four towers at Lastours. The fourth, known as the Tour Régine, was built by the French around 1260.