Description: Fliegerhorst Wertheim lies above the city of Wertheim and was constructed beginning in 1936. Along with the grass airfield, extensive barracks were built, too, with a casino, billets, staff buildings, etc. The use of local materials led to the unique character of the buildings. In December 1937 the Fliegerhorst (airfield) received its first occupants, a Stuka unit.
On Easter 1945, American troops arrived at Wertheim and occupied the barracks. After the war the Fliegerhorst was used as a displaced persons camp for forced laborers in Germany and as a refugee camp. The airfield was used as agricultural land.
Due to growing tensions in Europe and the reinforcement of US Forces, the barracks were evacuated and the facilities renovated. On June 12 1952, the US Army took over the facility and renamed Peden Barracks. A helicopter outfit was the first unit to occupy the base. Athough the former Fliegerhorst was a large airfield, the main role of the Army installation Wertheim was to serve as a home station for ground units. A 600-meter runway was built on the former grass airfield.
With the end of the Cold War and the resulting drawdown of US forces in Europe, US troops began to withdraw from Wertheim in the spring of 1992. By mid 1994 Peden Barracks and the surrounding facilities were abandoned. The area has since been converted to civilian housing and a commercial area and now houses part of the police school for the Federal State of Baden Wuerttemberg.