PDA

View Full Version : StreetView Network Link



Mickey
04-19-2008, 02:52 AM
There is now a network link for our StreetView files. Like the individual KMLs in the StreetView section, these files aren't perfect -- they can't fly you into the StreetView bubble. However, they can get you close, and then you can click your way into the bubble.

The network link will show the 50 locations nearest to your center of view. By default, it will refresh each time you stop moving the map.

You can download the KML for the network link here (http://www.gearthhacks.com/streetview/getnlink.php).

If you have any questions or suggestions for the network link, post them here!

SpiderX22
04-27-2008, 08:03 PM
It's not working for me. It doesn't refresh when I move somewhere new, and when I right click and hit refresh it loads then freezes on orange, and then switches to red. Error with the network link or something on my part?


Works better now...but I had to zoom in quite a bit..under 18 miles..

Mickey
04-27-2008, 09:35 PM
You shouldn't have to zoom in that close. Anyone else having the same problem?

I'll look it at in a few hours. Thanks for the heads-up.

SpiderX22
05-11-2008, 06:48 PM
Still only working under 18 miles...or over 4000 miles..

Mickey
05-11-2008, 06:50 PM
Can someone else try? It's still working fine for me, but obviously not for Spider. I need to track down what the problem is...

sladys
05-11-2008, 07:19 PM
Now I have tried too. And I had to zoom in very close before anything happens. Just as Spider.

Mickey
05-12-2008, 12:02 AM
That's very odd. Are you using the link in the first post of this thread? I just downloaded it again, and it's working find. I can view from 500 miles, 200 miles, 3700 miles -- they all work fine.

Some questions to help start to fix this:

- Operating system.
- GE version
- Any error message if you expand the network link (does it give you the "+" next to it)?

Thanks!

sladys
05-12-2008, 11:51 AM
Today all works fine. I have no idea why it didn't work yesterday.

Mickey
05-12-2008, 12:27 PM
Today all works fine. I have no idea why it didn't work yesterday.
That's strange. I haven't touched it at all...

SpiderX22
05-12-2008, 08:58 PM
At a height of 275 miles, everywhere seems to work..but over Denver..

Dweller_Benthos
07-03-2008, 06:46 PM
Seems to work spotty for me. I sometimes get a bunch of points around Boston, and also in France, but nothing else. Moving the camera elsewhere, like Los Angeles, sometimes gets the ones aorund there, then moving back to Boston, it might take a few nudges of the view to get them to show up. When they do, I might get some, but not all markers. Of the ones I added, I only get the clock, and not the ship that's right across the river. This is at any zoom level. Manual refresh doesn't seem to help.

G Earth 4.3.7204.836
Win XP Pro SP3

D_B