PDA

View Full Version : Overlay questions



martin
09-01-2005, 07:33 PM
Hi all,
i've searched before and found some hints but a a few questions remain.

I have two "official" hires-TIF's from my hometown, one of the eastern part, one of the western.
Both have 33MB and 5871x5871pixels @ 40 dpi.

When inserting this originals in an overlay, their resolution gets killed.

So my question is, what is the max resolution/dpi GE allows?
What size/dpi is right for an GE-overlay?
JPG or TIF?

Thanks
Martin

PS: And yes, i won't bother you with the result ; )

grav8e
09-01-2005, 09:44 PM
I'm no authority by any means...but all the overlays I've done have been at typical screen resolution (72 dpi) and have been JPGs or PNGs. While the image quality of TIFs is high, so is the file size and hence the loading time and regeneration time, etc. As far as what the best dimensional size is...I'll leave that for others to comment on...but I'm sure your files would be far easier to work with if taken down a few notches.

macnetz
09-02-2005, 12:58 PM
When inserting this originals in an overlay, their resolution gets killed.Hi Martin,

these are bad news :( but you are right.
I made a little testing myself:
with an overlay 500 x 500 pixel the image is displayed correctly,
but with 6750 x 5040 pixel it's bad
http://mac-im-netz.de/dateien/keyhole/Comp2.jpg (http://mac-im-netz.de/dateien/keyhole/Comp.jpg)
I tried with .PNG and .JPG

Anton

qwertz
09-05-2005, 09:44 AM
According to the Help Page http://www.keyhole.com/GoogleEarthHelp/GoogleEarth.htm at Google Earth, a maximum size of 2000 x 2000 pixels is the best for an overlay