PDA

View Full Version : Need tips for overlays



searayman
09-08-2005, 01:53 AM
anyone have any tips on getting overlays to ffit batter over that GE map?

araT
09-08-2005, 02:51 AM
Use the four corners to resize the image, and use the diamond slighty left-of-the-centre to rotate it.. you can use transparency to see how well you are doing getting it alligned.. the best trick is to use water, large roads/highways and parks to make sure you have it done 100% accurately :)

Good luck!

T.

grav8e
09-08-2005, 06:49 PM
Does anyone have a tried and true method for distortion of overlay images...when dragging and resizing don't do the trick? I've been using the Free Transform in Photoshop to skew and distort the image, but I have to go back and forth so much it's not really worth all the trouble. I'm trying to use an overlay image of the entire USA, but lining it up correctly just isn't possible with the limited 'stretching' in GE.

searayman
09-08-2005, 09:56 PM
i agree, thats my problem overlaying huge areas like the usa sometimes seem impossible to get it exactly

macnetz
09-08-2005, 10:00 PM
. . . but lining it up correctly just isn't possible with the limited 'stretching' in GE.Hi,

you have to reproject the map using a GIS software.
GlobalMapper can do this too.

Regards - Anton