PDA

View Full Version : Inactive resources



Beezer
09-19-2005, 11:40 PM
Would it be possible to change the way resources are shown, specifically inactive ones?? Once they become inactive, can they be removed from their specific resources list??

I have an oil well that is inactive, but every time I glance at my summary frame, I think I've got one more well than I really do.

It's really just a personal annoyance and I guess I don't see the value in showing the inactive resources.

War_Peace
09-19-2005, 11:49 PM
Definitely agree...

Inactive ones should disappear...

tukamotton
09-19-2005, 11:52 PM
unless we can reactivate them....

Lukepuuk
09-20-2005, 12:16 AM
unless we can reactivate them....

Read about that in another topic. Great idea. For a little less you could reactivate it.

palau
09-20-2005, 12:23 AM
I actually thought expiring resources just disappear. If so, one would have to seek an empty spot again to replace the resource for a new one. This has two advantages over renewing:

1. Resource camps would not get so crowded until everything expires/dies (too sad of an end, really). I know this is reality for oil and diamonds, but other resources (like cotton and casinos in the future) are supposed to be renewable!

2. By making the resource disappear once they expire, we give newcomers better chance to get some for them.

- palau

rasqual
09-20-2005, 12:53 AM
If a well runs dry, why would anyone want to drill another well there?

:-)

IMO, there's a lot more room for oil wells. And it would be fun to let each well ACTUALLY DEPLETE the resource at the Lat/Lon where it was drilled.

Barring that, though, let inactive wells have dirty brown placemark icons.

Mickey, how about scaling the minimum distance between wells so there's always four or five spots to drill? Some function of the total number of wells divided by area, or somesuch. Same for cotton and diamonds.

Still, I urge you to look to the real world to come up with your figures for how much wells are worth, how much petrol armies, navies and planes use, and so forth. I think you'll save yourself a LOT of pain in the long run by researching and implementing it as close to reality as possible. The general proportions, anyway.

Wed. morning will be fine.

Beezer
09-20-2005, 02:54 AM
IMO, there's a lot more room for oil wells. And it would be fun to let each well ACTUALLY DEPLETE the resource at the Lat/Lon where it was drilled.
Good idea. Then we'd have to start hunting for oil in other places in the world (like the Gulf of Mexico). And more resources are a good thing!!


Wed. morning will be fine.
I love your deadline dates. Keep the pressure on the creator!!!!! :lol:

Mickey
09-20-2005, 03:33 AM
If a well runs dry, why would anyone want to drill another well there?
Excellent point.


IMO, there's a lot more room for oil wells. And it would be fun to let each well ACTUALLY DEPLETE the resource at the Lat/Lon where it was drilled.
That's a great idea! However, it's not gonna happen right now due to time restraints. :)


Barring that, though, let inactive wells have dirty brown placemark icons.
I considered that, but I'd rather just free up the space for a newcomer to have a shot at it.


Mickey, how about scaling the minimum distance between wells so there's always four or five spots to drill? Some function of the total number of wells divided by area, or somesuch. Same for cotton and diamonds.
I hadn't considered that. It'll take some work, but might be worth doing...


Still, I urge you to look to the real world to come up with your figures for how much wells are worth, how much petrol armies, navies and planes use, and so forth. I think you'll save yourself a LOT of pain in the long run by researching and implementing it as close to reality as possible. The general proportions, anyway.
You and your "real world" stuff. :) Again, I'd love to do it (and probably will eventually), but I've got more basic stuff to deal with for now.


Wed. morning will be fine.
Wow, that's quite generous for you! Actually, I'm better than that, if our versions of "done" are even remotely close. All wells/mines/fields now disappear from your list a few minutes after they're done. That was the easy way for now...