PDA

View Full Version : City Values



TheMightySquigglies
09-20-2005, 12:01 PM
I was just wondering why New York is at the top of the list? I presume they are worked out by population of that city therefore wouldn't mexico city be higher?

Also I thought Shanghai was the largest in the world.

Where is the data pulled from?

Beezer
09-20-2005, 12:52 PM
The value is the population of the city.

Data is pulled from Wikipedia.

We use the metro area populations when we can.

TheMightySquigglies
09-20-2005, 01:16 PM
I thought that was the case so I check wikipedia and it has tokyo as 36,000,000+ which would make it the largest.

Here are my results

METROPOLITAN AREA:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_metropolitan_areas_by_population

ACTUAL CITY DATA:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cities_by_population


I'm confused

War_Peace
09-20-2005, 01:18 PM
http://www.googleearthhacks.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2652

TheMightySquigglies
09-20-2005, 01:43 PM
Sorry, didn't realise this was already a topic.

Mods - feel free to lock/remove thread

Beezer
09-20-2005, 02:06 PM
I thought that was the case so I check wikipedia and it has tokyo as 36,000,000+ which would make it the largest.

Here are my results

METROPOLITAN AREA:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_metropolitan_areas_by_population

ACTUAL CITY DATA:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cities_by_population


I'm confused

That's why I said we use the metro data when we can. In Tokyo's case, it would be so big that it would overlap the polygon for Osaka. It does need to be more consistent though.

I have convinced Mickey to shrink the polygons. This should reduce the number of city requests that get rejected becasue they would overlap. It will also allow me to look at upping the population in some cities to the true metro areas.