PDA

View Full Version : GroundOverlay Image Update? (Network Link)



geolog
07-20-2005, 12:41 PM
Hi,
I want to be able to have a GroundOverlay Image (jpg) that displays then after a time period (defined in the kml file which was assiged via 'network link') it changes to a secondary file. Does anyone know if this is possible. By adding two entries in the kml for this it chooses only one when it runs.
Hope someone has an example I can use. I summary its changing jpg 1 to jpg 2 in the earth display.
Thanks.
GL

geolog
07-20-2005, 01:24 PM
Also looking for a clear example where same image updates (via network link) every 30 seconds or so. Know this is very possible but simple example would help. This is a different question to previous about multi image etc.

Appletom
07-20-2005, 01:40 PM
In summary its changing jpg 1 to jpg 2 in the earth display.GLOK - this is pure supposition on my part. GEarth travels the internet to find the overlay, then lays it out. What if you had an animated GIF that had layer one on for five seconds, then layer two shows up? You could set the timing in ImageReady, then when GEarth grabs the file, it would play it back.
Also looking for a clear example where same image updates (via network link) every 30 seconds or so.Again - just pure guessing on my part, but I think that GEarth grabs the image when the placemark is loaded and I don't think it refreshes. Someone with more skill than myself would have to experiment.

geolog
07-20-2005, 01:55 PM
Hi,
GE doesn't support animated gifs unfortunately which is where thers a problem.
GL

Captain Chickenpants
07-21-2005, 07:32 AM
OK - this is pure supposition on my part. GEarth travels the internet to find the overlay, then lays it out. What if you had an animated GIF that had layer one on for five seconds, then layer two shows up? You could set the timing in ImageReady, then when GEarth grabs the file, it would play it back.Again - just pure guessing on my part, but I think that GEarth grabs the image when the placemark is loaded and I don't think it refreshes. Someone with more skill than myself would have to experiment.
I am afraid it wouldn't work like that.
The application displaying the image (in this case google earth) is responsible for switching from one frame of the gif to the next.

CC