PDA

View Full Version : Tectonic Plates



Roadsweeper
10-30-2005, 11:35 AM
Hi,

I need a world-wide image/overlay of tectonic plates / volcanoes locations.

Can someone help me?
Thanks

Roadsweeper :brick:

araT
10-31-2005, 05:49 AM
Because its an overlay of the whole world the countries dont line up *EXACTLY* but its pretty close! :) Hope this helps!

T.

Roadsweeper
10-31-2005, 10:08 PM
thanks for that, mate, but i wanted one real accurate. However, i will keep your one for now.
I really wanted some volcanoes too , their locations. Can anybody help?

araT
11-01-2005, 05:45 AM
You can turn on the volcanoes layer in the layers section of GE, it will then put a placemark with the volcanoes name and some info about it on every volcano around the world. :)

T

araT
11-01-2005, 06:02 AM
You can also use an image like this;

http://www.geog.nau.edu/courses/alew/ggr346/text/maps/rof.gif

or this;

http://www.ils-courses.net/rocks/images/volcano-map.jpg

But it will have the same problem as mine, it wont line up 100% because the images aren't totally to scale.

T.

Hank Freid
05-17-2008, 05:40 AM
araT


You can turn on the volcanoes layer in the layers section of GE, it will then put a placemark with the volcanoes name and some info about it on every volcano around the world

Very nice explanation

Hank52
05-18-2008, 05:59 PM
Try this. It shows the Techtonic Plate Boundaries and any recent Earthquakes. You'll have to Expand the Tree Menu to get the Plate Boundaries. Click on the Link on the Webpage to get the Kml file.

CBS News Seismic Monitor (Source, USGS)

http://www.surfingtheapocalypse.net/cgi-bin/archive.cgi?noframes;read=164110

Ken: