PDA

View Full Version : Flags of the World discussion



GEHFileBot
11-04-2005, 09:04 PM
This is a discussion thread for the following file:<br><br><b><a href=http://www.googleearthhacks.com/dlfile10920/Flags-of-the-World.htm>Flags of the World</a></b><br><br>Hi folks ...

this set contains all of the flags from the CIA factbook. I choose to place them above the earth so that the images are not in the way when inspecting a place. Besides that, it just looks cool.<br><br><img src=http://www.googleearthhacks.com/images/new/080505/994182world.jpg>

wonders
11-04-2005, 09:09 PM
Hi there ...

since the KMZ I am commenting here is an update to the original I want to direct you to the original discussion of the file. It is located here:

http://www.googleearthhacks.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3522

I also want to use this space to express my disappointment that updating this KMZs deleted the voting history and did reset the download counter. I as the creator get a bit of a "feeling" from how often a file had been downloaded and how the votes are.

As far as I recall the original download counter was about 400 or 500 as of 2nd or 3rd of November and the vote was about 3.6 with approx 15 votes.

Nuff said.

wonders

johnstaveley
11-06-2005, 07:26 AM
The flag for Albania is incorrect, as far as I'm aware it has never been a British colony,

John

http://www.appliedlanguage.com/flags_of_the_world/flag_of_albania.shtml

wonders
11-06-2005, 09:34 AM
Thanks for pointing this out.

There seems to be a serious issue with GE not being able to hold more than a specific amount of icons. I checked in the XML file itself and there it has the flag of Aquilla (av-flag.gif), which explains your remark about the british colony.

I now opened GE and checked for the error there and strange enough, in my version of the file, Albania carries the flag of Latvia (lg-flag.gif). What now happened, puzzles me ...

I changed the flag of Albania to the correct one and could see that the Latvia flag also changed. Perhaps because the same file name was referenced in both. I then went to Lativa, changed to the correct one, and could see the Albania flag change.

I had to do this a couple of times back and forth until GE realized that those are meant to be different and change not both at a time when only one file had been edited. But now, Aquilla had chaged its flag to the one of Latvia :shock: :mad: :confused:

I deleted the Aquilla placemark, recreated it and everything seems ok now.

It seems that this is related to caching network images and/or placemarks. I did not find out where the images are stored. Might be that they reside in the dbCache.dat.

Anyways, I upload the corrected one and hope the issue is resolved.

wonders

Captain Hornblower
11-06-2005, 10:35 AM
Flags of the world has been updated to v1.2.

wonders
11-06-2005, 11:54 PM
Thanks for the update.

wonders

Appletom
11-07-2005, 01:56 AM
Wonders - that is one of the, if not the, coolest files in all of GEH. I would love to see the same thing for the 50 states in The USA.

araT
11-07-2005, 02:00 AM
You mean like THIS FILE (http://www.googleearthhacks.com/dlfile10197/USA-State-Flags.htm), Appletom? ;)

T.

wonders
11-07-2005, 05:02 PM
Wonders - that is one of the, if not the, coolest files in all of GEH. I would love to see the same thing for the 50 states in The USA.

Appletom, even though you seem to be a guy, and I am, too, you make me blush and giggle ;)

Thanks for the very nice feedback

wonders

wonders
11-20-2005, 04:08 PM
Hi there ...

I just updated the KMZ to V1.3 and uploaded it into the queue ...

Zimbabwe and Wallis and Futuna had the same flags ... fixed.

wonders

stefankarakashev
01-13-2006, 08:21 AM
it really is the best hack on this site!

wonders
09-05-2006, 07:48 PM
Updated the KMZ to V1.4

It came to my attention that this set does not work anymore. This is for two reasons:
1. CIA Worldfactbook changed location. The image references do not work anymore.
2. The new location is HTTPS which GE does not download. Sorry for that.

Hotlinking to the images is not possible this way.

I updated the KMZ the following way:


Downloaded all flags from the CIA server using a bit of scripting and a download manager.
Replaced the hotlinks with local links in the doc.kml
Recreated the .kmz file so it includes the flags.


The downside of this is that if a flag changes, which is very unlikely though, the change will not reflect in the set.

Note: If you don't see the flags you most probably downloaded the old file. Make sure you downloaded the file labeled V1.4 on the download page. The file size should be approx. 300kb

SpiderX22
09-05-2006, 08:00 PM
Isn't Aquilla actually known as Anguilla?

wonders
09-08-2006, 06:29 PM
You are right. Since the last update has not been approved yet and this is only a very minor update and I don't want to annoy the staff too much, I have uploaded a corrected file to bbs.keyhole.com

V1.5: Corrected typo in the name of Anguilla.

Download it here:
http://bbs.keyhole.com/ubb/showthreaded.php?Number=163898