PDA

View Full Version : Tokyo updated?



arbitrary
12-04-2005, 06:30 PM
Did anybody else notice that Tokyo (at least parts of it) have been updated? Not sure exactly when this happened, but it has definitely changed since I last checked some weeks ago. The new imagery seems to be more up to date, and covers more area around the city... but it's also more blurry and slightly lower resolution than before... :whine:

Roadsweeper
12-04-2005, 06:31 PM
UK too has been updated to include more high resolutions. Inc. Greater London and Isle of Wight.

arbitrary
12-04-2005, 06:38 PM
Also, the border between old and new imagery isn't done very nicely, as you can see from the example I attached... :slant: (new imagery is on the right side)

georg
12-04-2005, 07:43 PM
There is a new imagery data update:
http://bbs.keyhole.com/ubb/showthreaded.php/Cat/0/Number/219154/Main/219154/#Post219154

arbitrary
12-04-2005, 08:17 PM
Hmm, if they continue at this speed, it will take a looooong time until all bigger cities (like, 100.000+) are available in high resolution. Not even thinking about the area where I live, where all towns are smaller than that. I'm sceptical if it will be covered ever. But then again, there's a patch of high resolution about 50 km away, with nothing but small villages and farms in it :rolleyes: Kinda disappointing when you think about it... But I do hope they'll speed up the process once GE leaves beta status.

Sometimes I'm thinking it would be really neat if users could somehow vote for areas to be covered next. Hell, I'd even pay (not too much, though...) for high resolution coverage of my area :sadyep:

Appletom
12-04-2005, 08:17 PM
They certainly did mess things up in Tokyo - look at Narita:

http://www.googleearthhacks.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=1806&stc=1

maxxxheimer
12-04-2005, 09:20 PM
just look at bankok old airport or sydney airport...

araT
12-05-2005, 02:07 AM
just look at bankok old airport or sydney airport...

Sydney airport has been fixed :p We too, got newer, better res :D

T.

arbitrary
12-05-2005, 09:14 AM
They certainly did mess things up in Tokyo - look at Narita:

That's Haneda ;) But I'm glad you made me check out Narita, because it's finally high res now!

MuttsMooch
12-10-2005, 12:49 PM
I hope they update Boston + Suburbs too because it is WAY different than it is now - there is no Higher + Upper decks anymore, they use the Zecham Bridge, but the Decks are still there :-/