PDA

View Full Version : Germany got an improved resolution



AlexK
03-24-2006, 11:18 AM
I haven't been on GE for a week or so and was today surprised to find the resolution all over Germany was less patchy. But the area near Munich had been replaced by much older data. The building I work in is now apparently a building site.

Does this happen regularly in other areas and can anyone suggest why GE would do this?

georg
03-24-2006, 11:56 AM
http://bbs.keyhole.com/ubb/showthreaded.php/Cat/0/Number/359430/Main/359430/#Post359430

macnetz
03-24-2006, 12:26 PM
I haven't been on GE for a week or so and was today surprised to find the resolution all over Germany was less patchy. But the area near Munich had been replaced by much older data.Hi AlexK,

tonight GE has replaced the satellite images with Ortofotos from Airplanes (DLK).

Regards - Anton

Captain Hornblower
03-24-2006, 02:24 PM
Cool, Germany in better resolution!!!!!
It looks like I can see my old car :cool:

frankdog
03-26-2006, 08:21 AM
Hi there list,

It's great there is improved resolution of Germany now. While scouting around to the south of Bernkastel, Germany, I saw a strange greay shape over the map. Anyone from Germany know what should be there?

Cheers
Andy

Captain Hornblower
03-26-2006, 08:52 AM
I guess they simply forgot this area to fill with aerial pics. There is another area like this at Ganderkesee, west of Bremen.

leo_b
03-26-2006, 04:32 PM
hi,
some place are different now.
so one of my downloads are gone:
http://www.googleearthhacks.com/dlfile6706/circus---Berlin,-Germany.htm

and one is better then before:
http://www.googleearthhacks.com/dlfile6787/Loeschen-Kart-Racetrack---Germany.htm

regards leo

fips2
03-26-2006, 04:43 PM
Hi,

Kiel in Schleswig-Holstein is now in a realy high resolution!
It's almost the same res as in New York.
Unfortunately, the western part of S-H (where I live)is not updated :crysmilie !

Perry
03-26-2006, 06:19 PM
Nice, Germany in HiRes!

But as I looked around my home region I saw Hameln is now twice.
Look at 5205' N 0921' E.

Hope they'll fix it.

McMaster_de
03-27-2006, 07:22 AM
It's nice to have the most of the country in higher resolution, but why do they upgrade some areas with older pictures then the existing ones?

walti
03-27-2006, 11:43 AM
Yes this is true before Legoland Germany was finished and you saw all the fun stuff
http://www.googleearthhacks.com/dlfile853/Legoland-Deutschland.htm

and now its just a construction site. :crysmilie

guest
03-27-2006, 12:42 PM
...these are very mega old Pictures from Germany, anno 2000/01... very bad stuff!!! :mad:

grimbold
03-28-2006, 06:27 AM
It was good to see a content update, many new hi res zones in India too, however the city of Ahmedabad is updated with rather old images. The building i work in is a construction site, that was in 2000-2001 AD. How can a sattelite capture the past in its scan. Or is it that they got old pics from old satellite scans?

Kurtz
03-28-2006, 08:33 AM
It was good to see a content update, many new hi res zones in India too, however the city of Ahmedabad is updated with rather old images. The building i work in is a construction site, that was in 2000-2001 AD. How can a sattelite capture the past in its scan. Or is it that they got old pics from old satellite scans?

WTF?
You've seen too many science fiction movies! :confused:

grimbold
03-30-2006, 09:00 AM
:lol:
Maybe i need to be clearer in my communication. Let us see: Ok, I mean this:

The images seen in google earth for ahmedabad as of today are old images. There are a lot of places which show up as construction sites where there is a complete and occupied, operational building today.

The bit about the satellites? I meant to ask: Is it that the update to the imagery is from old scans of the region?

I believe i have put it clearly now?

Captain Hornblower
03-30-2006, 02:48 PM
Probably you can answer it yourself ;)

paul89
04-05-2006, 05:07 PM
Does anyone of you guys knows why dresden(ger, about 51N, 1344E) looks so nice while Terrain is disabled, but if you turn terrain on it is very low-res? :whine:
This is a huge difference... :whoa:
help!!!

clems_37
04-05-2006, 05:27 PM
Does anyone of you guys knows why dresden(ger, about 51N, 1344E) looks so nice while Terrain is disabled, but if you turn terrain on it is very low-res? :whine:
This is a huge difference... :whoa:
help!!!
I see the house like that !! ;)

photizo
04-11-2006, 01:55 PM
A friend of mine got the same problem. Must have sth. to do with your graphic board.

bad luck...

CrazyD
04-24-2006, 12:17 PM
Does anyone of you guys knows why dresden(ger, about 51N, 1344E) looks so nice while Terrain is disabled, but if you turn terrain on it is very low-res? :whine:
This is a huge difference... :whoa:
help!!!

i know why, its because of the hills, when you turn terrain off, the picture is flat, so its nice and clear...if you turn it on, the picture bends and so looks awful...

this also happens in
Glasgow, Scotland (UK),
Bristol, England (UK),
and Cardiff, Wales (UK)

(to my knowledge

tizerist
04-24-2006, 07:37 PM
well having looked at the grey patch, and legoland, apparently the images are from 2006 acording to my GE!!!!
you guys say thats like 5 years ago.weird.

kindley
04-26-2006, 02:55 AM
the town of lippstadt also has improved reolution. hopefully GE will make the whole world have 3" res one day.

kindley
04-26-2006, 03:08 AM
dortmund, bottrop, monchen gladbach, dresden, kassel, darmstadt, frankfurt also have 3" res.

KableKiB
05-04-2006, 01:04 AM
Google Earth now says my city has 2006 images but they haven't changed since before.. There is a dirt road that is now paved and has been since fall of 2005. I'm in the Atlantic Canada region if you're wondering.

-Kable

Philabolle
05-04-2006, 09:14 AM
The pics of my region (north-west Berlin) are from summer 2005.