PDA

View Full Version : New Google Earth Update Available - 3.0.0464



Mickey
08-06-2005, 03:59 AM
Google has released their second update to Google Earth!

<b>For Google Earth Free or Plus:</b>
<a href="http://desktop.google.com/download/earth/GoogleEarthPlus-0464.exe">http://desktop.google.com/download/earth/GoogleEarthPlus-0464.exe</a> (10.7 MB)

<b>For Google Earth Pro:</b>
<a href="http://desktop.google.com/download/earth/GoogleEarthPro-0464.exe">http://desktop.google.com/download/earth/GoogleEarthPro-0464.exe</a> (15.9 MB)

There are two major enhancements to report with this update.

First, the cache system has been completely re-worked, which they claim offers MUCH better performance. This also means that your old cache file will be lost, but that's just a minor inconvenience. Also, you can now choose to increase your total cache size to 2000 MB.

Second, there is now an "overview" that you can have up in the corner of the screen. To start it up, go to "View --> Overview Map". To adjust the size/zoom of the map, go to "Tools --> Options --> Navigation". You can double-click on the overview to fly to wherever you want!

A complete list of updates can be found here:
<a href="http://bbs.keyhole.com/GoogleEarth-Beta-differences.txt">http://bbs.keyhole.com/GoogleEarth-Beta-differences.txt</a>

Any comments or problems? Post them in this thread!

luxpc
08-06-2005, 08:21 AM
Hi

I downloaded the update for the Pro .
But in the I.E. download-window , there show me 15,5 MB .
And after download in Explorer i have a file from 15,9 MB .
Not 22 MB as shown in your topic . ??

But , great thanks for the info .

bye luxpc

Stadsman
08-06-2005, 08:27 AM
Another nice new feature:
- Free users can now fly their cached data while offline

Very usefull when you want to show off GE without an internet connection.

Stadsman
08-06-2005, 08:55 AM
Second, there is now an "overview" that you can have up in the corner of the screen. To start it up, go to "View --> Overview Map". To adjust the size/zoom of the map, go to "Tools --> Options --> Navigation". You can double-click on the overview to fly to wherever you want!

Changing the option settings for the overview map doesn't make a difference on my computer. Also double-clicking the overview map doesn't seem to work. Anybody else with the same problem?

PenguinOpus
08-07-2005, 06:17 PM
Hi

I downloaded the update for the Pro .
But in the I.E. download-window , there show me 15,5 MB .
And after download in Explorer i have a file from 15,9 MB .
Not 22 MB as shown in your topic . ??

But , great thanks for the info .

bye luxpc

This was my fault. I just corrected the original announcement on bbs.keyhole.com. Thanks for the tip, no one else commented on this.

Mickey
08-07-2005, 06:31 PM
This was my fault. I just corrected the original announcement on bbs.keyhole.com. Thanks for the tip, no one else commented on this.

Ahh, good to know. Our annoucement has been updated now as well. Thanks!

geronimo
08-08-2005, 03:22 PM
I've found a very important feature for 'metric users' in this release.

Under Tool -> Options -> view you can switch the elevation from 'feet/miles' to 'meters/kilometers'.

Festeron
08-11-2005, 08:34 PM
Under Tool -> Options -> view you can switch the elevation from 'feet/miles' to 'meters/kilometers'.

I suppose it was too much to ask for a switch from feet/miles to metres/kilometres

:-)

cows321
08-16-2005, 11:30 AM
the title says it all

Mickey
08-16-2005, 11:51 AM
the title says it all

The software? Yes, it's completely free. Get it here (http://kh.google.com/download/earth/index.html).

trimetrov
08-17-2005, 11:34 PM
Here's a 'woo-hoo' for a reworked cache system!

hypeserver
08-17-2005, 11:54 PM
I updated the first day it came out :)

araT
08-18-2005, 12:11 PM
Changing the option settings for the overview map doesn't make a difference on my computer. Also double-clicking the overview map doesn't seem to work. Anybody else with the same problem?

Works fine for me, dude.. try pressing Ctrl+M to make it pop-up, and then double-clicking somewhere in that little map to make it fly there :)
I have no idea why it wont work for you!?

http://img303.imageshack.us/img303/9832/capture047lv.png

Thanks for alerting me to a new feature! i hadnt stumbled across that yet! :D

T.