PDA

View Full Version : Can you pass a command line parameter?



BatVink
07-12-2005, 12:21 PM
Hi all,

nice to see a site dedicated to Google Earth!

Is it possible to send coordinates or place names as a start parameter? I have a tool called Sidebar, and it would be nice to be able to type "GE Paris", for example, and open up the application on the specified place.

I realise you could programatically create a kml file, but this is too complex for my needs.

I could see this being a very easy way to integrate Google Earth with other programs.

Thanks in advance!

BatVink
07-18-2005, 02:22 PM
bump...

grenooye
09-13-2006, 07:52 PM
hi,
This is already built-in within GE. Simply choose your spot and save it to 'Default'. Every time your application starts it will do so in your 'Default view'. If you want to send to someone a specific location and view, before saving the 'kmz' or 'kml' file, right click on the file and select 'snapshot view' then save. Everytime this location is opened it will fly to your selected view.
Hope this helps?