Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37

Thread: Google Earth Flight Simulator Easter Egg!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default Google Earth Flight Simulator Easter Egg!

    Wow, this is great. Apparently there is a flight sim built into the new Google Earth!


    Read more about it here:
    Google Flight Simulator

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    2,780

    Default

    WOW, great find of you. It's really there.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Captain Hornblower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Koblenz, Germany
    Posts
    1,904

    Default

    Very cool!!!

    Software is like entropy. It is difficult to grasp, weighs nothing, and obeys the second law of thermodynamics; i.e., it always increases.
    Norman R. Augustine

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Munden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    939

    Default

    Yeah, I just wish it worked with my Sidewinder joystick. Still, it is pretty nifty!

  5. #5
    Senior Member martin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    390

    Default

    All i get when clicking the link is:
    >>
    The e-mail could not be sent.
    Possible reason: your host may have disabled the mail() function...
    <<

    ?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    2,780

    Default

    I guess you have entered Ctrl+Alt+E instead of Ctrl+Alt+A.

  7. #7
    Moderator Emeritus Appletom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    El Paso, Texas
    Posts
    1,280

    Default

    I receive the same error - Firefox or IE. I'm just clicking the link, no Ctrl or Alt or anything special.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Captain Hornblower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Koblenz, Germany
    Posts
    1,904

    Default

    Still working fine here (with Firefox).

    Anyway, the link brings you to a blog. There you can see a short video of how to activate the easter egg and a short flight.

    The important message: if you wanna start the simulator, start GE, be sure it's the lastest version, hit CTRL+ALT+A and a message box opens, where you can choose between the type of aircraft and the airport you want to start the flight at.

    Software is like entropy. It is difficult to grasp, weighs nothing, and obeys the second law of thermodynamics; i.e., it always increases.
    Norman R. Augustine

  9. #9
    Senior Member martin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    390

    Default

    Ahh cool, thanks!
    Now the link works and i found the Flight Simulator within GE's Tools-Menu which i overlooked totally ; )

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Munden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    939

    Default

    One bit of advice on using the flight controls:

    One thing I missed at first as how to use the mouse. If you click in the window once, your mouse will now act as the flight yoke leaving you to only have to use the keys for the rudder. (use 'center' a lot when I'm done with a turn and want to center the rudder again)

    Clicking the mouse again cancels the mouse-yoke and lets you access the menus again.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Hornblower View Post
    hit CTRL+ALT+A and a message box opens, where you can choose between the type of aircraft and the airport you want to start the flight at.
    I must be more stupid than I thought in my old age because, when I do a Ctrl+Alt+A in GE, all I get is an "a" [with an acute accent over it] in the "Fly to" box and nothing else.

    I am using the latest version of GE 4.2.0181

    Regards

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    this is very awesome
    probably one of the most fun things in ge

  13. #13
    Super Moderator Munden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnLouis View Post
    I must be more stupid than I thought in my old age because, when I do a Ctrl+Alt+A in GE, all I get is an "a" [with an acute accent over it] in the "Fly to" box and nothing else.

    I am using the latest version of GE 4.2.0181

    Regards
    There's the problem. That's not the latest version. Go to the 'Check for updates online' and afterwards your problem will probably go away.

    Mine is currently at:
    4.2.0184.9679 (beta)

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Munden View Post
    There's the problem. That's not the latest version. Go to the 'Check for updates online' and afterwards your problem will probably go away.

    Mine is currently at:
    4.2.0184.9679 (beta)
    Unfortunately, doing that it tells me that "There are no updates available at this time" and downloading directly from the web site gives me the same version that I have, 4.2.0181.2634

  15. #15
    Super Moderator Captain Hornblower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Koblenz, Germany
    Posts
    1,904

    Default

    Click on the globe first, then it should work.

    Software is like entropy. It is difficult to grasp, weighs nothing, and obeys the second law of thermodynamics; i.e., it always increases.
    Norman R. Augustine

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •