Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: how can i switch to map view on google earth

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default how can i switch to map view on google earth

    I want to see maps like they show them on google maps
    its hard to see the streets on satelite view.
    is there a buttom on google earth to do that? or do i have to press go to google map buttom everytime i need to see the streets map.

    like this
    http://laughingsquid.com/wp-content/...on_bar_map.jpg

  2. #2
    Administrator Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,462

    Default

    You can't get a clean view of the streets like you can in Google Maps. However, you can overlay the street names to make it look somewhat like the hybrid view in Google Maps.

    In Earth, go to "layers" and make sure the checkbox for "roads" is selected. That's the best you can do in there.

  3. #3

    Default

    The attached KML files should do the trick, and more.

    Google Maps in GE.kmz will allow you to overlay maps, terrain, or hybrid map directly onto Google Earth.

    FlashEarth in GE.kmz will give you an arrow which, when you click on it, brings up a window that will show you the current view in various other mapping programs (Virtual Earth, Yahoo Maps, etc.)

    Matt
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Google Maps in GE.kmz

    Hi,

    I downloaded Google Maps in GE.kmz and double clicked it.
    GE shows a new entry in Places/Temporary Places/Google Maps/Bernhard Version.
    When I enable any map option other than None, I get beep errors
    about not able to load images and about 25 Xs tiled over the map area.

    I used GE 4.0.2737 and then upgraded to 5.1.3533.1731. The beep
    errors went away but the 25 X s still get tiled.

    Am I missing something here?

    Hope for some advice or pointers.

    Thanks,

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Additoinal info - Google Map in GE.kmz problem

    Hi all,

    The beeps came from "Could not load image" messages. Each X is a failed image load.
    An example is
    http://mt.google.com/mt?v=w2.92&%78=...9=46918&zoom=0

    Is it possible that the .kmz is relying on a server that is no longer in service?

    Thanks,

  6. #6
    Moderator Emeritus Appletom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    El Paso, Texas
    Posts
    1,278

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by khtan View Post
    Is it possible that the .kmz is relying on a server that is no longer in service?
    A server that doesn't exist or more likely an image that's been removed. Is the link you provided from the kmz? If so, then your kmz is going out and looking for a picture that doesn't exist.

  7. #7

    Default

    It looks like the Google Map Overlay kmz no longer works. Google probably changed something that broke it. I don't know of any other options at this point. Not sure why Google doesn't just include a maps overlay in Google Earth. I suspect that someday they will.
    Matt Fox

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Is there no further info on this topic...since 2005???

    Not to sound petulant but after all this time, is there really no way to start with a Google Earth Pro map on which has been drawn an annotation like a circle (using ruler) and view that map as the kind of non-satellite *map* view one can find in Google Maps - that is, keeping the annotation(s) made in Google Earth? I don't always need the satellite view, rather; for my needs I some time need to utilize a non-satellight view.

    You guys are way smarter than I at this stuff. Please, hook a brutha up.

    Tanks, Mon.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •