Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Google Earth Plug-in

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Administrator Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,464

    Default Google Earth Plug-in

    Many of you have heard about the new Google Earth browser plug-in released today. If not, here is some info:

    http://www.digitalearthblog.com/2008...-coming-today/

    I'm working on getting this working for the files on our site. It's very buggy (mostly my bugs, I'm sure), but progressing. Every file on the site now has a link that says "New! GE plug-in" in the "Get File:" section on the file detail page. That link will theoretically work with the plug-in.

    Here is a sample page that I know is working pretty well:
    http://www.gearthhacks.com/downloads...php?file=23503

    Do not use this thread to tell me about broken files -- there are a ton of them. Once I think I have things sorted out, then we'll open it up for problem reports.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member martin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    389

    Default

    Plugin installed ok on my Firefox 3 RC1.
    But i get a "load failed" error box on your example.
    Anyways, this sounds like an interesting development!

    What browsers you've checked?

  3. #3
    Administrator Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,464

    Default

    It won't work in FF RC1, as that's what I have as well.

    It runs reasonably well in IE8, though it's not officially supported yet.

    It technically only works in FF2, IE6 and IE7.

    When you get it working, Monster Milktruck is a pretty fun demo!

  4. #4
    Administrator Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,464

    Default

    Thanks to some help from the Google Support forums, things continue to improve. I have the default zoom set much better, so that should help.

    Still having some issues with some files and every overlay. Very frustrating...

  5. #5
    Senior Member martin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    389

    Default

    Now it runs in Firefox 3 also.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default no geplugin for me...

    hello,

    I have installed firefox 3 under win xp sp2.
    when i visit the monster milktruck page a popup window tells me that I have to install a plugin and trying to do so an other window opens with "no plugin found - application/geplugin unknown". There is also a link on the image "download ge plugin now", so I download the file GoogleEarthPluginSetup_en.exe, run it and the only thing I see is a window 'trying to connect to server'... after 3-4 min. the message is no connection to server.
    what do i do wrong?
    thx

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •