Thread: Airplanes Explosions Volcanoes & Geo One

Default Airplanes Explosions Volcanoes & Geo One

Opps.. I mean GeoEye, Not Geo One

Hi..

I'm New to Google earth, a lover of History and hope to use Google Earth to view the main historical wonders of the world. ( or even new strange wonders captured on the camera and maybe even find some myself!)

I have a few questions.

I would expect, if we are getting pics from a satellite we would see Lots of Airplanes. We dont.. why is this?

The same goes with the Iriaq War and bomb Explosions.. I would think we would see fighting, in Iraq and bombs in the middle of exploding as well as volcanoes in mid eruption.

Perhaps these thing are there and I just haven't seen them yet.

I understand most governments censor some things in Google Earth. We get a watered down version of what is really going on out there due to that.

My guess is each area is doctored so we only see what is 'acceptable' for us to see.

I am using the Beta 5 by the way.

I read someplace that Google is going to start using new high res pics from GeoEye.. Have they started yet.. is that that I am seeing in beta 5?

I read someplace that the whole planet was not yet available from GeoEye is that true?

If so, where can I get GeoEye data to use with Google Earth?

Thanks!

John phoenix
    Last edited by JohnPhoenix; 04-14-2009 at 05:47 AM. Reason: fix spelling errors

Can't see explosions in Iraq because the data is really old, and the chances of a satellite passing over and taking a picture at the EXACT moment something explodes are so miniscule.

Can't see airplanes? There's TONS. Look here or here.
    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾Ľ̃̾)۶

I would have thought the opposite.. that there was so much terrorism going on that the chances were good to get an explosion on camera.. but I will take your word for it, Thanks..

Btw folks.. I forgot to ask this above.. How old is the data? How often does it get updated?

Quote Originally Posted by JohnPhoenix View Post