Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: How to Set Altitude

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default How to Set Altitude

    Dear Community,

    I am (a total beginner and) trying to set my altitude to exactly 500m. How can I do that?

    Thank you for your time and attention

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    40 views and not a single help.

    Thanks a lot.

  3. #3
    ṨῤἵḋểṙẊƻƻ SpiderX22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,909

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Clan View Post
    40 views and not a single help.

    Thanks a lot.
    Probably because we don't know and are wondering ourselves?

    Only thing that came to mind is to disable scroll (zoom in/out) and thne move around, or use a multiaxis mouse and disable up and down motion.
    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾Ľ̃̾)۶

  4. #4
    Moderator Emeritus Appletom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    El Paso, Texas
    Posts
    1,276

    Default

    Navigate to where you want to be and get as close as you can.

    Start to create a placemark by clicking the pushpin icon.

    In the placemark's dialog box, click the "View" tab.

    Change the number in the "Range" field to 500m.

    Then believe it or not, click "Cancel" and you will see yourself zoom out to 500 meters altitude.

    Google Earth's placemark dialog box has the range setting in meters regardless of whether you have feet or meters set as your default in Tools --> Options. If you wanted exactly 500 feet, you would need to convert to meters and enter the meters value in the Range field.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Appletom View Post
    Navigate to where you want to be and get as close as you can.

    Start to create a placemark by clicking the pushpin icon.

    In the placemark's dialog box, click the "View" tab.

    Change the number in the "Range" field to 500m.

    Then believe it or not, click "Cancel" and you will see yourself zoom out to 500 meters altitude.

    Google Earth's placemark dialog box has the range setting in meters regardless of whether you have feet or meters set as your default in Tools --> Options. If you wanted exactly 500 feet, you would need to convert to meters and enter the meters value in the Range field.
    Thank you sir.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hello GEH forums, my first post here, despite using the application itself since Keyhole times already, but onto the topic...

    Thank you Appletom for a good guide, but it does not always work as expected even though it should. A good tip and take no offence but I just felt I had to drop a friendly comment on this one.

    Even with 5.1 it snaps close, but at least for me the experience has never been getting it to snap exactly at a specified viewing altitude. Tried several times again just to be sure.

    Would be best if you tried too and told me the results you got. I myself tried a lot more, just posting a few. So these are my 10 results from randomly varying altitudes and different regions of the world from Asia to Europe to USA.

    • 59.406291░, 24.667883░ range 500m, Eye alt. shows 526m
    • 59.406291░, 24.667883░ range 1000m, Eye alt. shows 1.03km
    • 58.672613░, 104.545033░ range 500m, Eye alt. shows 987m
    • 58.672613░, 104.545033░ range 100m, Eye alt. shows 587m
    • 58.672613░, 104.545033░ range 4000m, Eye alt. shows 4.49km
    • 38.893738░, -77.023902░ range 1000m, Eye alt. shows 1.00km
    • 36.118325░, -113.239947░ range 3000m, Eye alt. shows 4.11km
    • 36.118325░, -113.239947░ range 1000m, Eye alt. shows 2.11km
    • 35.689858░, 139.691831░ range 10000m, Eye alt. shows 10.04km
    • 41.895466░, 12.482324░ range 1500m, Eye alt. shows 1.72km
    Last edited by Appletom; 09-11-2009 at 03:34 PM. Reason: Tried to fix formatting

  7. #7
    Moderator Emeritus Appletom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    El Paso, Texas
    Posts
    1,276

    Default

    Aulo - welcome to GEH. (You're late!)

    Turn off terrain to duplicate my results.

    Don't believe me? Copy this coordinate 32░46'37.88"N, 117░15'15.39"W to go to Mission Beach in San Diego . The default landing is 1.0 KM above ground level. Turn terrain off and back on, your eye altitude remains at exactly 1,000 meters KM.

    Leave terrain on, go away and come back - you will still be at 1,000 meters. Turn terrain off, go away and come back - you will still be at 1,000 meters.

    Now make sure to keep terrain turned off.

    Copy this coordinate - 31░48'0.78"N, 106░23'39.83"W - and paste it into the fly to box in Google Earth. You will find yourself at gate 5A at the El Paso International Airport with a birds eye view of the entire terminal. And your eye altitude will read 1.0 km.

    Now turn terrain on. You will see yourself "slam" down to barely above ground level but your eye altitude will go up to 1.21 KM! 1.21 KM translates to 3,969 feet, and El Paso International is listed at 3,917 to 3,959 feet Above Sea Level.

    Leaving terrain on, go away and come back. You will find you've "landed" at the same viewing distance as when you landed before, but now your eye altitude shows 2.2 KM.

    Summary - when terrain is on, Google Earth's eye altitude represents ASL (Above Sea Level). When terrain is off, Google Earth's eye altitude represents AGL (Above Ground Level).

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up

    Thanks! I believe you and as stated, by all means I hope to be as friendly as always. My post was to find out how come I have never managed to get myself to the desired altitude and now I know why. Your post made everything clear for me and I hope for many other readers as well. Thanks again for taking time and explaining!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I've never quite managed to get to the desired height, and now I know why. The message made it all clear to me, and I hope many other readers.
    Last edited by SpiderX22; 09-21-2009 at 04:35 PM.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default set eye alt

    thank you appletom and aulo for describing all those unspecified tricks and parameters to set eye altitude
    a good example of "hacking"
    maybe it will get specified and simplified in a future release of google earth, but if it works now, don't fix it!

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Navigate to where you want to be and get as close as you can.

    Start to create a placemark by clicking the pushpin icon.

    In the placemark's dialog box, click the "View" tab.

    Change the number in the "Range" field to 500m.

    Then believe it or not, click "Cancel" and you will see yourself zoom out to 500 meters altitude.

    Google Earth's placemark dialog box has the range setting in meters regardless of whether you have feet or meters set as your default in Tools --> Options. If you wanted exactly 500 feet, you would need to convert to meters and enter the meters value in the Range field.


    Tryed this with no result
    Tryed turning on and off terain -no result

    I am at lat -8.798076 115.117638 and wish to have an altitude of 1000m

    Please help , slowing down the mouse wheel is a bitch to match to 1000m

  12. #12
    Moderator Emeritus Appletom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    El Paso, Texas
    Posts
    1,276

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frazerhurst View Post
    Then believe it or not, click "Cancel" and you will see yourself zoom out to 500 meters altitude.

    Tryed this with no result
    I tried it and came up with 1.01 KM or 999 meters, couldn't get 1,000 meters exactly. So instead of hitting "Cancel", I hit "OK" and it set me at exactly 1,000 meters. Then I just deleted the new placemark I had created and I remained at 1,000 meters.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator Munden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    939

    Default

    If it's good enough to be within a meter or so, I'd say to use the button method.

    Right-click, now just gently slide yourself into the right altitude. As a note, setting the altitude on a placemark only changes the altitude of the 'icon' and NOT the eye altitude.

    However the 'Range' method does work. Note that you're updating RANGE and not altitude. Just tested it out and you can hit Cancel and have it go to that altitude, but I am assuming you want to set a placemark somewhere with that eye altitude. (in that case just hit Ok, but I know that's obvious)
    Last edited by Munden; 05-18-2010 at 03:42 AM.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up More thanks...

    appletom and aulo: Thanks! Your directions for setting altitude/elevation were spot on!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •