I don't think it's possible to share the default myplaces.kml across a network. So the only thing that should be shared is that network link. Anything you add to your own my places should be visible to you only.
I have a network link at my office where several users can access the places of others. I want to add a folder to my places for personal data that i do not want the other users to have access to. Is this possible.