Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: NYC Subway discussion

  1. #1
    Administrator GEHFileBot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    3,954

    Default NYC Subway discussion

    This is a discussion thread for the following file:

    NYC Subway

    NYC MTA subway routes and stations for Manhattan, the Bronx, Queens, and Brooklyn. For the most part I used the stations I found on here (GEH) with some corrections and additions. This should correspond to the March 2006 system map.



    http://www.mta.info/nyct/maps/submap.htm


  2. #2
    Senior Member stefankarakashev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tinos, Greece
    Posts
    443

    Default

    How do you make lines like these?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stefankarakashev
    How do you make lines like these?
    I used the add path feature from GE Plus. In fact that's about the only feature that I use from Plus.

  4. #4
    Senior Member stefankarakashev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tinos, Greece
    Posts
    443

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by michael dk
    I used the add path feature from GE Plus. In fact that's about the only feature that I use from Plus.
    So I can't do it with the free version?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    28

    Default coding manually

    Hi there,

    you can also do it manually if you want, without using GE Plus (if you are so inclined). Here's an example of the code:
    HTML Code:
    <Placemark>
    <name>Name of placemark</name>
    <Style>
    <Icon></Icon>     <!-- this is to have no icon appear in My Places; you can have an icon if you want, though -->
    <LineStyle>
    <color>ff9464e6</color>
    <width>2</width>     <!-- width is between 1 and 4; I think that default is 1 -->
    </LineStyle>
    </Style>
    <LineString>
    <coordinates>
    -99.07459573625876,19.41631373692428,0
    -99.08210248638399,19.41174458021144,0
    -99.09037309925735,19.41646679932027,0
    </coordinates>
    </LineString>
    </Placemark>
    Easy enough, once you understand what's going on. You can get your coordinates from your other placemarks.

    Ciao!
    Last edited by richardmtl; 05-15-2006 at 03:18 PM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member stefankarakashev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tinos, Greece
    Posts
    443

    Default

    Thanks Richard

    Where should I put the code though?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    28

    Default

    You need to edit your file in a text editor (Notepad or Word).

    Here's a quick tutorial to get you started:

    http://www.keyhole.com/kml/kml_tut.html

    Have fun!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •