Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: New Google Earth Update Available - 3.0.0464

  1. #1
    Administrator Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,462

    Default New Google Earth Update Available - 3.0.0464

    Google has released their second update to Google Earth!

    For Google Earth Free or Plus:
    http://desktop.google.com/download/earth/GoogleEarthPlus-0464.exe (10.7 MB)

    For Google Earth Pro:
    http://desktop.google.com/download/earth/GoogleEarthPro-0464.exe (15.9 MB)

    There are two major enhancements to report with this update.

    First, the cache system has been completely re-worked, which they claim offers MUCH better performance. This also means that your old cache file will be lost, but that's just a minor inconvenience. Also, you can now choose to increase your total cache size to 2000 MB.

    Second, there is now an "overview" that you can have up in the corner of the screen. To start it up, go to "View --> Overview Map". To adjust the size/zoom of the map, go to "Tools --> Options --> Navigation". You can double-click on the overview to fly to wherever you want!

    A complete list of updates can be found here:
    http://bbs.keyhole.com/GoogleEarth-Beta-differences.txt

    Any comments or problems? Post them in this thread!
    Last edited by Mickey; 08-07-2005 at 07:29 PM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Luxembourg
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi

    I downloaded the update for the Pro .
    But in the I.E. download-window , there show me 15,5 MB .
    And after download in Explorer i have a file from 15,9 MB .
    Not 22 MB as shown in your topic . ??

    But , great thanks for the info .

    bye luxpc

  3. #3
    Super Muderator Stadsman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    52░21'24.37"N, 4░51'13.83"E
    Posts
    261

    Default

    Another nice new feature:
    - Free users can now fly their cached data while offline

    Very usefull when you want to show off GE without an internet connection.

  4. #4
    Super Muderator Stadsman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    52░21'24.37"N, 4░51'13.83"E
    Posts
    261

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mickey
    Second, there is now an "overview" that you can have up in the corner of the screen. To start it up, go to "View --> Overview Map". To adjust the size/zoom of the map, go to "Tools --> Options --> Navigation". You can double-click on the overview to fly to wherever you want!
    Changing the option settings for the overview map doesn't make a difference on my computer. Also double-clicking the overview map doesn't seem to work. Anybody else with the same problem?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    4

    Default Whoops

    Quote Originally Posted by luxpc
    Hi

    I downloaded the update for the Pro .
    But in the I.E. download-window , there show me 15,5 MB .
    And after download in Explorer i have a file from 15,9 MB .
    Not 22 MB as shown in your topic . ??

    But , great thanks for the info .

    bye luxpc
    This was my fault. I just corrected the original announcement on bbs.keyhole.com. Thanks for the tip, no one else commented on this.

  6. #6
    Administrator Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,462

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PenguinOpus
    This was my fault. I just corrected the original announcement on bbs.keyhole.com. Thanks for the tip, no one else commented on this.
    Ahh, good to know. Our annoucement has been updated now as well. Thanks!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    10

    Default Another feature

    I've found a very important feature for 'metric users' in this release.

    Under Tool -> Options -> view you can switch the elevation from 'feet/miles' to 'meters/kilometers'.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2

    Talking If only...

    Quote Originally Posted by geronimo
    Under Tool -> Options -> view you can switch the elevation from 'feet/miles' to 'meters/kilometers'.
    I suppose it was too much to ask for a switch from feet/miles to metres/kilometres

    :-)

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    1

    Default Are they free??

    the title says it all

  10. #10
    Administrator Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,462

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cows321
    the title says it all
    The software? Yes, it's completely free. Get it here.

  11. #11
    Junior Member trimetrov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    the STL
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Here's a 'woo-hoo' for a reworked cache system!

  12. #12
    Senior Member hypeserver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Chicago,IL
    Posts
    284

    Default hey

    I updated the first day it came out
    Check out the all new hYpe Entertainment to see some of my cool music remixes. Just go to hYpe Entertainment

  13. #13
    Licensed to Ban araT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Oz
    Posts
    1,244

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stadsman
    Changing the option settings for the overview map doesn't make a difference on my computer. Also double-clicking the overview map doesn't seem to work. Anybody else with the same problem?
    Works fine for me, dude.. try pressing Ctrl+M to make it pop-up, and then double-clicking somewhere in that little map to make it fly there
    I have no idea why it wont work for you!?



    Thanks for alerting me to a new feature! i hadnt stumbled across that yet!

    T.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •