Ionian Islands, Greece

The Ionian Islands (Greek: Ionia Nisia, Ιόνια Νησιά; Ancient Greek: Ionioi Nisoi, Ιόνιοι Νήσοι are a group of islands in Greece. They are traditionally called the Seven Islands (in Greek Heptanisa or Eptanisa, Επτάνησα, but the group includes many smaller islands as well as the seven principal ones. The seven are, from north to south:

Kerkyra (Κέρκυρα usually known as Corfu in English
Paxi (Παξοί also known as Paxos in English
Lefkada (Λευκάδα also known as Lefkas in English
Ithaki (Ιθάκη usually known as Ithaca in English
Kefallonia (Κεφαλλονιά often known Cephalonia in English
Zakynthos (Ζάκυνθος sometimes known as Zante in English
Kythira (Κύθηρα sometimes known as Cerigo in English
The six northern islands are off the west coast of Greece, in the Ionian Sea. The seventh island, Kythira, is off the southern tip of the Peloponnisos, the southern part of the Greek mainland.



Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *