Puerto Rico Police Department

The Puerto Rico Police Department (Policía de Puerto Rico) is the territorial police force for the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, which has jurisdiction anywhere in the territory. It traces back to 1837, and was created to protect the lives and property of Puerto Ricans, and provides police services to the entire island, even though many municipalities maintain their own police force.

The headquarters are located in the Cuartel General (General Stationhouse) at 101 Franklin D. Roosevelt Avenue in the Hato Rey section of San Juan.



Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *